• MC Woman

    Kara Town

    • Juggling roles as a creative director, artist, stylist and writer, Kara Town is a natural and a passionate creative. Based in Adelaide with her husband Chris, Kara opens the doors to her carefully thought out home to share with us the importance of space, daily routine and her sources of inspiration. 

    • - What does a typical day look like for you?

      My husband, Chris, and I run our business from home, so we have to have a very regimented day, to be as productive as possible. I usually wake between 5:30-6:30am, feed the cats, make coffee and work on Object Of for an hour or two. At around 7:30am I go to the local beach for my daily walk of 5-7kms, while Chris heads to the gym. When we return, I make us fresh green juice and shower so that we are at work by about 9:30am. I break during the day to make us lunch. We work from different parts of the house, so we usually sit together in the dining room or in the garden to eat. I tend to finish up work around 5:30pm to start preparing dinner. We enjoy eating dinner at the dining table every night, and we eat out very little. I love to cook and I find it relaxing. I’m usually in bed and asleep by 9:00-9:30pm. I’m very much a quintessential Cancerian. I love to be at home, and over the past five years, have really perfected living and working in the same space.

  •  MC Woman. Kara Town

    The study

    • - You co-founded ‘Nest Together’ earlier, what motivated you to start Object Of?

      For me, NEST came to its natural end in October of last year. As a project I had co-founded and worked on for the almost five years it was a difficult decision to move on, but I decided that it was well and truly time. My daily ritual of NEST, and my dedication to it was not however, something I was ready to lose: it had become a refuge for me. So, I decided to start Object Of as my own voice, my own project and my own space. A space I could still dedicate myself to, daily.

      - How do you balance all your creative projects?

      Given that I work full-time on our stationery company, AHD Paper Co., with my husband, and I dedicate a portion of my day to OO, finding time can be difficult when I take on freelance work. But having said that, working from home allows me/us some flexibility when there needs to be. I am always mindful though, that AHD is our primary source of income. My husband and I both have creative side projects that we wholeheartedly encourage – it is an integral part of our personalities.

MC Woman. Kara Town

Left: J.Hannah Nail Polish in natural hues, Chanterelle and Himalayan Salt
Right: Artwork by Kara's partner, Chris Town

    • - Where do you find your source of inspiration?

      Galleries, Books, Nature, Social Hearsay (Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest).

      - Who/What are you influenced by?

      Lively, open, confronting and informative conversation with friends, with strangers and, even with myself. There are many ways to learn in life, but the art of conversation and the respect for open dialogue, for me, are intrinsically important on my path to greater understanding. That, and nature. We can learn a great deal from quietly observing and consciously immersing ourselves in nature.

      - What do you do to relax?

      My role at AHD means that I tend to sit for long periods and do repetitive work, so for me, relaxation needs to be anything physical. It’s important to get my body moving. We have a reasonably large garden that I look forward to working in, on Sundays. I’m often researching gardens and plants in my spare time, or heading off to our local nursery. I also love to cook and to immerse myself as much in nature as possible. This winter we have a thriving vegetable patch, so I’m cleverly combining the two. I love the quiet, contemplative but physical tasks.

  •  MC Woman. Kara Town

    Bathroom reflections

  •  MC Woman. Kara Town

    Kara in her kitchen wearing R13 Cashmere Boy Tee and Toteme Lasavina Trouser

    • - What is your approach to dress?

      Truthfully, a very simple one. Given I’m 35, I’ve had ample time to perfect my ‘uniform.’ I don’t like to over-consume, and I love to purchase clothing that I can see myself in for many, many years to come. I take great delight in that. I like to be comfortable, classic and chic. My staples are: a vintage denim jean, wool suit pant, men’s shirt or silk shirt, classic white/black tee, double breasted blazer, leather jacket, simple slip dress, a sandal, boot or loafer.

      - Tell us about your beauty regime.

      I wear little to no makeup, I have not coloured my hair in 10 years, and I have a very simple daily skincare/haircare routine. I come from a family of women who champion natural beauty, something I have always admired, and consequently I, too, prefer a natural, uncomplicated, but polished look. I’m drawn to women like Claude Lalanne, Georgia O’Keeffe, Lauren Hutton, Jane Birkin, Isabella Rossellini, Jodie Foster, Sofia Coppola. These are all women of true substance, women who are comfortable in their skin. After all, ageing is a privilege - there is great beauty in imperfection and ageing - I often think we have forgotten that. Looks ultimately fade, your sense of self and character are far more important in this world.

    • - What are you currently reading / watching / listening to?

      Reading: Barbara Hepworth Writings and Conversations. Watching: The Handmaid’s Tale, Season 2. Listening: Mazzy Star, Among My Swan.

      - What is your most favourite object or space at home?

      Every object, artwork and piece of furniture in our home has been collected, commissioned, custom-made and considered, so it is hard for me to choose. But, there is a large black ceramic vase by friend and artist Romy Northover that sits on a custom plinth in our dining room, alongside it stands an African statue that was gifted to me by Chirs, and in the same room a ceramic wall mask by Artist Jordan Wood. All three together, make me very happy. In addition: our growing collection of white German porcelain vases from the 60s; a framed polaroid in my study (again by friend Romy Northover) of the remote solar home we stayed in outside of Marfa last year; our Marcel Breuer Wassily Chairs; plus various paintings around our home by Chris, they are a textural delight.

  •  MC Woman. Kara Town

    Favourite objects; African masks, ceramic vases and Marcel Breuer Wassily Chairs

    • - Do you have any travel plans in the near future? If so, where?

      Earlier in the year we travelled by car, from the south to north island of New Zealand. We also spent a few days hiking in the Flinders Ranges a month back. This is the first year in five years that we have not headed to the US, so we are making a conscious effort to see more Australian attractions in the later half of this year. Soon we head to Melbourne for work followed by the Mornington Peninsula for a few days. We head to Sydney to visit family in October, and will be spending some time at Smiths Lake with friends. We also hope to travel to Coober Pedy, Uluru or Kangaroo Island before the year is up.

      - Do you have any upcoming projects we can look forward to?

      I start wood carving lessons soon, something I have wanted to do for a long time. It promises to be both artistically fruitful and personally challenging.